To Write or Not To Write? Eternal Suffering of a Writer!

To Write or Not To Write? Eternal Suffering of a Writer!

My Readers,

Without sharing with anyone, until now, I have had been banging my head against this virtual wall, in my thoughts, of being a writer and its actual benefits for me in the long run.

Do you have such moments as well?

As the times are, only a select few in this world can really enjoy the life in the fullest and still be a writer. Thus most people, like me, got to study or keep his/her job. Being in a sound financial position is a given, if you want to keep on writing without fearing the days ahead.

Today, I came across this post titled “12 Difficult Things You Need To Accept About Being A Writer” as I was surfing through the dense postings of various bloggers. It reminded me of how I recently was talking to an acquaintance, also a writer, who was wondering – as he can’t explain his story in good way due to his limited vocabulary/writing skills – whether should he just give up?
I responded almost immediately “No!”, realizing a little later that I have said it out loud, I then continued explaining to him that if he did have a story to tell:
“He should never ever give  up.”

I don’t know how many writers out there think of giving up everyday, and actually go through with it, which leads to the sad epiphany that we might just have lost another great story along with their dream of being a writer.

I always shudder when I ponder, on the following questions:
What if J.K. Rowling and/or Stephen King had given up on their goal of becoming a writer?
What if the great writers have given up on their stories?
I just cannot imagine I’d even be here writing this if I hadn’t been inspired by the great writers, naming a few – Charles Dickens, Shakespeare, H. Rider Haggard and previously mentioned the living legends J.K. Rowling and Stephen King.

I hope we all who are striving to become a writer, may it be full time or not, should be able to pursue it under all circumstances because losing a writer is not just that – loss of a writer – but the world opts out on the chance to listen/read the story they had to tell, all those characters that could have jumped out of the pages of their books/blogs will now remain lifeless – forever.

Rooting for a life of writing,
MAQ

2 thoughts on “To Write or Not To Write? Eternal Suffering of a Writer!

Share your opinion, please...

